Fourteen Local Animal Shelters Unite to Raise Awareness for Homeless Animals

NORFOLK, VA – Fourteen local animal shelters are joining forces until February 16 to recognize Homeless Animal Awareness Week (HAAW), according to a press release.

For one week, shelters across the region will take to social media to educate our communities about animal homelessness.

Norfolk Animal Care and Adoption Center will offer discounted adoption fees of $50 for both dogs and cats to help these companion animals find loving fur-ever homes.

A picture containing text

Description automatically generated

During Homeless Animal Awareness Week, animal shelters are reminding our friends and animal lovers to spread the word — local shelters are full of wonderful pets waiting for their new family to walk through the door.

Community members can join the Facebook event and further their participation by updating their social media with HAAW graphics and using the hashtags #HR4PETS#HAAW and #homelessanimalawarenessweek.

According to a study by the American Pet Products Association, the number of pet-owning homes has increased to about 67 percent of U.S. households. However, only a fraction of those homes found their new pet at an animal shelter or humane society.  Ending animal homelessness can happen if we think “shelters first.”

The participating shelters are Norfolk Animal Care and Adoption Center, Norfolk SPCA, PETA, Chesapeake Animal Services, the Chesapeake Humane Society, Heritage Humane, Isle of Wight County Animal Shelter, Peninsula Regional Animal Shelter, Peninsula SPCA, Portsmouth Humane Society, Suffolk Animal Care Center, Virginia Beach Animal Care and Adoption Center, the Virginia Beach SPCA and the SPCA of Northeastern North Carolina. Individuals are encouraged to follow the Homeless Animal Awareness Week Facebook event for information about adoption discounts and events.

Contact information for participating shelters:

Chesapeake Animal ServicesAmanda McQuarryamcquarry@cityofchesapeake.net
Chesapeake Humane SocietyDyanna Uchiekvolunteer@chesapeakehumane.org
Heritage Humane SocietyJennifer LaFountainjennifer@heritagehumanesociety.org
Isle of WightChristina Crowderccrowder@isleofwightus.net
Norfolk Animal Care and Adoption CenterJessica GuckertJessica.Guckert@norfolk.gov
Norfolk SPCAAmanda Insettaainsetta@norfolkspca.org
Peninsula Regional Animal ShelterBrigette Duganbdugan@nnva.gov
Peninsula SPCAJodi Deanjodi@peninsulaspca.org
PETARachel Bellisrbellis@peta.org
Portsmouth Humane Societyfrontoffice@portsmouthhumane.org
Suffolk Animal ControlLaurie Brittlelbrittle@suffolkva.us
Virginia Beach Animal Care and Adoption CenterJessica Wildejwilde@vbgov.com
Virginia Beach SPCASydney Monduysydney.monduy@vbspca.com
SPCA of Northeastern North CarolinaJudy PerkinsSpcaofnenc@gmail.com

Always be informed. Get the latest news and information delivered to your inbox

Print Friendly, PDF & Email