VIRGINIA BEACH — The city passed a new set of regulations Tuesday to govern short-term rentals after years of debate between residents, council, city staff, and state lawmakers.
After a flurry of last minute tweaks and attempted changes to the ordinance, City Council voted 8-2 vote to pass the new rules for short-term rentals.
The new rules will go into effect Nov. 1, and those who registered short-term rentals properties prior to July 1, 2018 will be grandfathered in.
The city’s discussions on how to regulate short-term rentals has become complex, with then-Mayor Louis Jones, council members, the city’s Planning Commission, and even the General Assembly holding different opinions on about what rules would be appropriate or legal.
Among the rules
- Each short term rental has to maintain registration with, and pay taxes to, the Commissioner of Revenue’s office
- The new regulations require one off-street parking space per bedroom, or a parking plan if that number cannot be met
- A $1 million liability insurance policy is required
- No amplified sound after 10 p.m. or before 10 a.m.
- A maximum of three people per bedroom will be allowed to sleep on the property
- No more than two rental contracts per 7-day period
- Homesharing will be considered a “principle use” in neighborhoods, while new short-term rental properties will require conditional use permits
- No more than 100 people may be on a property for an event
- City Council agrees on rules for short term rentals — but not everyone is happy
- A third set of short-term rental rules is now under consideration
- Virginia Beach to rework short-term rental rules after passage of state bill
- Virginia Beach short-term rental fines too steep for new state regulation
- City asks residents to speak out on Airbnb rentals