For those of drinking age, ringing in the new year means going out to parties, getting together with friends and quite possibly, enjoying libations to celebrate.
To stay safe, cities released safe driving information such as setting up a designated driver, calling a Tipsy Tow through AAA or just staying away from the alcohol if you’re planning on driving.
For Norfolk and Virginia Beach those tactics seemed to have worked because the DUI arrests recorded from Dec. 31, 2018 to Jan. 1, 2019 decreased from Dec. 31, 2017 to Jan. 1, 2018.
In Norfolk there were only three individuals arrested during the New Year’s holiday, according to the Norfolk Police.
Two were arrested on Dec. 31, 2018 and one on Jan. 1, 2019.
Those numbers are down from 2017-2018 New Year’s where one was arrested on Dec. 31, 2017 and four were arrested on Jan. 1, 2018.
Virginia Beach had a similar story.
From Dec. 31, 2018 to Jan. 1, 2019, there were a total of 12 DUI arrests, according to the Virginia Beach Police.
Last year’s New Year holiday, which stretched from Dec. 31, 2017 to Jan. 1, 2018 there were 17 DUI arrests.
In the state of Virginia, according to dui.drivinglaws.org, your first offense will be categorized as a class 1 misdemeanor and will impose a fine ranging from $250 to $2,500.
The law also imposes a one-year license suspension, according to the website.
The punishment increases if you are arrested with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher in which case your penalty may include a minimum of five days in jail.
To learn more about DUI offenses, click here.