New law imposes fines for slow drivers in left lane

Drivers traveling at "less than normal speeds" in the left lane on highways can be fined $100 starting July 1 in Virginia
Drivers traveling at “less than normal speeds” in the left lane on highways can be fined $100 starting July 1 in Virginia. (Photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons)

VIRGINIA BEACH — A new law is imposing a fine for lingering in the left lane on highways and interstates.

Starting July 1, drivers who break the new law can be fined $100 if they linger in the left lane at a slow pace, instead of treating it as a passing one, according to House Bill 2201.

The law requires motorists driving at “less than normal speeds” to travel in the right lanes of the highway.

Under a previous version of the measure, drivers could have been charged up to $250 for the infraction. Gov. Terry McAuliffe recommended the fine be lowered before the General Assembly passed the bill in April.

Correction: An earlier version of this story said the new law was lowering the fine from $250 to $100. This was incorrect. The new law is imposing a $100 fine.

Follow Justin on Twitter @Justinbmmj or send a story idea to Justin@SouthsideDaily.com

Always be informed. Get the latest news and information delivered to your inbox

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
SHARE
Previous articleWith help from the public, Virginia Zoo’s baby giraffe gets a name
Next articleFinnis
Justin writes about Virginia Beach city government, transportation and whatever else comes his way for Southside Daily. Before moving to the Beach from Florida, he attended the University of North Florida for multimedia journalism. He likes listening to music, going to shows and enjoying coffee.